This is such a cool poem on loving someone and then moving on. For a time there remains the remnants of the love for the other person, but we do not wish to trouble them with this. “I do not with to cause you any pain.” Perhaps the love was hopeless and doomed to fail but we need to be able to move on and love again.

I loved you, and I probably still do,
And for a while the feeling may remain…
But let my love no longer trouble you,
I do not wish to cause you any pain.
I loved you; and the hopelessness I knew,
The jealousy, the shyness – though in vain –
Made up a love so tender and so true
As may God grant you to be loved again.

About thenarcissismofsmalldifferences

You can contact me regarding private philosophy tuition for students embarking on AS or A level Philosophy and help with essay writing for year one undergraduates studying Philosophy at university.
This entry was posted in Loss, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

